Jan Maertens receives the De Beer Award for the period 2004-2008.

Late Professor E. De Beer's friends and colleagues took the initiative in 1982 to publish a memorial volume at the occasion of his retirement. The proceeds of that publication were used to establish the "De Beer Fund" and enable the award of the "De Beer Prize" every four years.

The prize is designed to reward an outstanding engineer who has provided significant contributions to the theoretical, experimental, and design aspects of soil mechanics and foundation engineering. The individual must either hold a civil engineering degree delivered by a Belgian institution or have maintained close collaboration with the Belgian Geotechnical Scene.

Recipients of the award since 1986 have been: Prof. Branko Ladanyi (Canada), Prof. Victor Roisin (Belgium), Dr. Alain Holeyman (USA), Prof. Michele Jamiolkowski (Italy), and Prof. William Van Impe (Belgium).

The Selection Committee, chaired by the current President of the Belgian Member Society of the ISSMGE has bestowed the De Beer Prize for the Period 2004-2008 to Jan Maertens. During the award ceremony held on April 28, 2009, Christophe Bauduin, the current President of the Belgian Member Society, stressed the accomplishments of the selected geotechnical professional.

Jan Maertens enjoyed receiving the prize (see Photos with Christophe Bauduin and Alain Holeyman, Secretary of the Awards Committee) and delivered the "De Beer Lecture" on "Special geotechnical observations with regard to the 'Europaterminal' in Antwerp".





Presentation of the award to the laureate professor J. Maertens by professor C. Bauduin (President Belgian Member Society of ISSMGE & President of the E. De Beer Award Committee -left) and professor A. Holeyman (Secretary of the E. De Beer Award Committee – right)