TC215 Geo-Environmental

Environmental Geotechnics

TC 215 will provide a forum for active participation by its members with the view of advancing the state of knowledge in the field of Environmental Geotechnics. It will promote the dissemination of knowledge, research findings and practice in the area of geoenvironmental engineering through close collaboration with ISSMGE TC committees and sister societies TCs. Organize the 8th International Congress on Environmental Geotechnics at Hangzhou, China in 2018; promote special sessions and joint sessions with other TCs (ISSMGE and sister societies) at regional forums, conferences; organize specialty symposiums and workshops; organize the 1st International Conference on Environmental Geotechnics for Young Engineers (ICEG-YE) (tentatively scheduled for 2018 in lead up to 8th ICEG 2018). Update website (, organize special issues on selected themes for publication in scientific journals. Interact with sister societies to promote new initiatives.



Update of report entitled Geotechnical Aspect of Environmental Engineering published on-line in 2006 (can be downloaded from Encourage its use by academia and practitioners once its update is completed.

Assist with technical programs of international and regional conferences organized by the ISSMGE and sister societies. Promote the presentation of the findings of the TC in main sessions and discussion sessions, and the honour lecture (the R.Kerry Rowe Lecture) at these conferences including the quadrennial International TC215 conference and ISSMGE Conference.

Establish co-operation and exchange of knowledge with national and international public institutions and government agencies to help provide a safe protection of the environment. Promote and recommend TC 215 members best practice published papers and reports to the industry. Improve the relationship with industry through joint seminars/workshops. Use the TC 215 website as the vehicle of delivery of the information needed by the industry.

# Type Full Name Country
1 Chair Malek Bouazza Australia
2 Vice Chair Kerry Rowe Canada
3 Secretary Andrea Dominijanni Italy
4 Nominated by TC Chair Charles Shackelford United States
5 Nominated by TC Chair Mario Manassero Italy
6 Nominated by TC Chair Kerry Rowe Canada
7 Nominated by TC Chair Edward Kavazanjian United States
8 Nominated Member SERGIO ANIBAL REYES Argentina
9 Nominated Member Loretta Batali Romania
10 Nominated Member D.N. Arnepalli India
11 Nominated Member Manoj Datta India
12 Nominated Member Marina Pantazidou Greece
13 Nominated Member Dimitrios Coumoulos Greece
14 Corresponding Member Aykut senol Turkey
15 Nominated Member Ali Pak Iran
16 Nominated Member Yeliz Yukselen Turkey
17 Corresponding Member Roger Clark United Kingdom
18 Nominated Member Stephan Jefferis United Kingdom
19 Nominated Member Douglas I Stewart United Kingdom
20 Corresponding Member Giancarlo Flores Japan
21 Nominated Member Moulay ZEHROUNI France
22 Nominated Member Abbas El-Zein Australia
23 Nominated Member Maria Eugenia Boscov Brazil
24 Nominated Member Antônio Thomé Brazil
25 Nominated Member Nicola Moraci Italy
26 Nominated Member Evelina Fratalocchi Italy
27 Corresponding Member G V Ramana India
28 Nominated Member Han-Yong Jeon South Korea
29 Corresponding Member Eugene Gallagher United Kingdom
30 Corresponding Member Dimitrios Zekkos United States
31 Nominated Member Jean-Pierre GOURC France
32 Nominated Member Luis Sopeña Spain
33 Corresponding Member Georg Heerten Germany
34 Nominated Member Lurdes Lopes Portugal
35 Nominated Member António Roque Portugal
36 Nominated Member Ishtiaque Anwar Singapore
37 Nominated Member John Cowland Hong Kong
38 Nominated Member Yunmin Chen China
39 Nominated Member Krishna Reddy United States
40 Nominated Member Hideo Komine Japan
41 Nominated Member Takeshi Katsumi Japan
42 Corresponding Member Fernando Pardo Spain
43 Nominated Member Herminia Cano Spain
44 Nominated Member Craig Lake Canada
45 Nominated Member Catherine Mulligan Canada
46 Nominated Member Ernest Olinic Romania
47 Nominated Member Marc Van Den Broeck Belgium
48 Nominated Member Gemmina Di Emidio Belgium
49 Nominated Member Albert Yeung Hong Kong
50 Nominated Member Kazem Badv Iran
51 Nominated Member V.G. OFRIKHTER Russia
52 Nominated Member Eugeniusz Koda Poland
53 Nominated Member Antonio Gens Spain
54 Nominated Member Liming Hu China

Host Member Society: Italy

Short name: Geo-Environmental (TC215) - Terms of Reference

GeoWorld GroupEnvironmental Geotechnics (TC215)


TC Report (Last Edition 2006): Environmental Geotechnics

XV ECSMGE, Athens 2011, Geoenvironmental Session Presentations: 


TC215 Symposium: "Coupled Phenomena in Environmental Geotechnics: from theoretical and experimental research to practical applications" (CPEG). 1-3 July 2013, Torino (Italy). Website:

7th International Congress on Environmental Geotechnics: 9-14 November 2014, Melbourne, Australia

Contact Technical Committee : Environmental Geotechnics