TC208 Slope Stability

Slope Stability in Engineering Practice

Host Member Society: Canada

Short name: Slope Stability (TC208)

GeoWorld GroupStability of Natural Slopes (TC208)

TC208 Workshop at ECSMGE 2019

TC208 Workshop on global grand challenges for engineered slopes at ECSMGE 2019

A pre-conference workshop for TC208 will be held at the European Conference on Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering, Reykjavik on 1st September 2019 from 1-4pm. We invite TC208 members and ot

Read More

To develop and disseminate knowledge and practice within the ISSMGE slope stability community

  1. Task Force 1a: ISSMGE virtual University – To identify, pursue, and aid leading academics and practioners in the generation of high quality webinar content for the TC208 subject area under the ISSMGE virtual University initiative
  2. Task Force 1b: Special Issues – To encourage the dissemination of the state of the art through hosting special Issues within scholarly journals (e.g. 2019 IJPMG special issue on physical modelling of landslides)
  3. Task Force 1c: Honor Lecture – To explore the possibility of the creation of a TC208 honor lecture

To establish guidelines and technical recommendations for slope stability practice

  1. Task Force 2a: Technical guidelines – To work with landslide committees within member societies and other affiliated bodies to create a library of national landslide guidelines within the ISSMGE library
  2. Task Force 2b: Technical recommendations for the selection of shear strength parameters for slope stability analyses – To create recommendations, based on soil mechanics theory, for use in slope stability analyses
  3. Task Force 2c --> 2n. Opportunity for other technical recommendations to be championed by members of the TC

To assist with technical programs of international and regional conferences organised by the ISSMGE

  1. Task Force 3a Conferences. To assist the ICSMGE / ECSMGE  organising committees in the peer review for manuscripts submitted under the slope stability topic.
  2. Task Force 3b: Workshops. To develop a plan for TC208 activities at ICSMGE & regional ISSMGE (e.g. ECSMGE) conferences

To assist with industry and overlapping organisations within the international slope stability community

  1. Task Force 4a: To work in cooperation with JTC1 and offer help in the organisation of the International Symposium on Landslides, JTC1 workshops, and other initiatives. To identify other organisations with overlapping interests in slope stability or education to promote the work of the TC

# Type Full Name Country
1 Chair Andy Take Canada
2 Vice Chair Federica Cotecchia Italy
3 Secretary Elisabeth Bowman United Kingdom
4 Nominated by TC Chair Clarence Choi Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
5 Nominated Member Noriyuki Yasufuku Japan
6 Nominated Member Kazunari Sako Japan
7 Nominated Member Muhsin Rahhal Lebanon
8 Nominated Member Wenjie Xu China
9 Corresponding Member Lanmin Wang China
10 Nominated Member Lin Meei-Ling Chinese Taipei
11 Nominated Member Vernon Schaefer United States
12 Nominated Member Dominic Lo Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
13 Nominated Member Celeste Jorge Portugal
14 Nominated Member Manuel Pastor Spain
15 Nominated Member Ross Roberts New Zealand
16 Nominated Member Farrokh Nadim Norway
17 Nominated Member Piotr Srokosz Poland
18 Nominated Member V.G. FEDOROVSKY Russia
19 Nominated Member Hjördis Löfroth Sweden
20 Nominated Member Mohammad Hasan Baziar Iran
21 Nominated Member Robert Charlier Belgium
22 Nominated Member Philippe Welter Belgium
23 Nominated Member Denis Demers Canada
24 Nominated Member Imam Aschuri Indonesia
25 Nominated Member Kubilay Kelesoglu Turkey
26 Nominated Member Omer Faruk usluogullari Turkey
27 Corresponding Member Baris Trak Turkey
28 Nominated Member Michael Bardanis Greece
29 Nominated Member GEORGIOS BELOKAS Greece
30 Nominated Member GONZALO MARTIN AIASSA Argentina
31 Nominated Member Marcos Futai Brazil
32 Nominated Member Felipe Gobbi Brazil
33 Nominated Member Stefano Utili United Kingdom
34 Nominated Member Ian Nettleton United Kingdom
35 Nominated Member Chan-Young Yune South Korea
36 Nominated Member Amin Askarinejad Netherlands
37 Nominated Member Paolo Tommasi Italy
38 Corresponding Member Lorella Montrasio Italy
39 Nominated Member Guiseppe Buscarnera United States
40 Nominated Member Arindam Dey India
41 Nominated Member Federica Cotecchia Italy
42 Corresponding Member Simonetta Cola Italy
43 Nominated Member B. Manna India
44 Corresponding Member Uday Kala India
45 Nominated Member Miguel Angel Cabrera Colombia
46 Nominated Member Sergio Castro Peru
47 Nominated Member JOSÉ LUIS PASTOR NAVARRO Spain
48 Corresponding Member Ero Vinicius Silva Spain
49 Corresponding Member Ivan Gratchev Australia
50 Corresponding Member Allan Herse Australia
51 Corresponding Member Ali Karrech Australia
52 Nominated Member Meysam Safavian Australia
53 Nominated Member Dino Sarac Australia
54 Nominated Member Jean-Sébastien L'Heureux Norway
55 Nominated Member Duc Manh Nguyen Vietnam
56 Nominated Member Tuan Nghia Do Vietnam
57 Corresponding Member Maria Clorinda Mandaglio Italy
58 Corresponding Member Nicola Moraci Italy
59 Corresponding Member Sarah Verfaille Belgium
60 Nominated Member YIfei Cui China
61 Nominated Member Chih-Chung Chung Chinese Taipei
62 Corresponding Member Kuo-Hsin Yang Chinese Taipei
63 Nominated Member Junjun Ni Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Contact Technical Committee : Slope Stability in Engineering Practice

This message will be sent to TC208 Slope Stability officers