NEWS

Prof. Roger Frank (France) receives the De Beer Award for the period 2009-2013

Late Professor E. De Beer's friends and colleagues took the initiative in 1982 to publish a memorial volume at the occasion of his retirement. The proceeds of that publication were used to establish the "De Beer Fund" and enable the award of the "De Beer Prize" every four years.

The prize is designed to reward an outstanding engineer who has provided significant contributions to the theoretical, experimental, and design aspects of soil mechanics and foundation engineering. The individual must either hold a civil engineering degree delivered by a Belgian institution or have maintained close collaboration with the Belgian Geotechnical Scene.

Recipients of the award since 1986 have been: Prof. Branko Ladanyi (Canada), Ir. Victor Roisin (Belgium), Dr. Alain Holeyman (USA), Prof. Michele Jamiolkowski (Italy), Prof. William Van Impe (Belgium), and Ir. Jan Maertens (Belgium).



The Selection Committee, chaired by the current President of the Belgian Member Society of the ISSMGE, is pleased to announce that the De Beer Prize for the Period 2009-2013 has been bestowed to Prof. Roger Frank (France). The award ceremony is scheduled in Brussels on April 18, 2013, and will be highlighted by the recipient's lecture on "La nouvelle norme française de calcul des fondations profondes" (The new French Standard on the design of deep foundations).

For further information, visit the website of the Belgian Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnics, member of the ISSMGE at <u>http://www.bggg-gbms.be</u>.