TC203 Earthquake

Earthquake Geotechnical Engineering and Associated Problems

At a regional level: Encourage the participation of TC203 members at regional workshops and conferences and organize specialized workshops (i.e. after large earthquakes, code initiatives etc). Participation of TC203 members in international survey committees or coordination of survey committees after large earthquake. At an international level: To investigate the most appropriate way to create (or/and upgrade) the web page of TC203 in the framework of the existing web page of ISSMGE and other related WebPages and portals To propose an award prize for an outstanding young researcher(s) after adequate and severe selection process. To actively support the Bulletin of Geotechnical Engineering and the Journal of Case Histories To encourage and support the production of high level monographs on specific subjects

To explore the possibilities to disseminate widely (through specialized portals) high quality experimental data, observations surveys, reconnaissance reports and design-construction reports on significant structures To define few topics for future TC203 generic activities like

(i) Performance Based Design in Earthquake Geotechnical Engineering, (ii) Liquefaction and associated phenomena,

(iii) Site characterization, Site Effects and Design ground motion for different typology of structures (i.e. ordinary modern buildings, monuments, lifelines, infrastructures etc.),

(iv) Large Scale Facilities in Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering,

(v) Numerical and physical procedures, (vi) Seismic codes,

(vii) Soil Structure Interaction, etc. To create Working Groups on specific subjects. Establish permanent links with global activities (in particular with GEER and GEM) and between research-academia and profession.

To host and endorse international conferences, symposiums and other events. To continue the already established and very successful activities such as the International Conferences of Earthquake Geotechnical Engineering, the Satellite Conferences in Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering in World Conferences and the TC203 supported conferences like the Performance Based Design Conference

To improve the link and the participation in TC203 of the construction industry. Active support of the construction and consulting industry of the activities of TC203 has to be explored Use the website as a source of information that is available to all members. Endeavour to get all country representatives to recommend published papers and reports that they consider represent best current practice in their region or particular field of expertise. Encourage country representatives to submit case history data showing recent examples of good practice. To create Working Groups on specific subjects.

# Type Full Name Country
1 Chair Ross Boulanger United States
2 Vice Chair Kyriazis Pitilakis Greece
3 Secretary Anastasios Anastasiadis Greece
4 Nominated by TC Chair Izzat Idriss United States
5 Nominated by TC Chair George Gazetas Greece
6 Nominated by TC Chair Takaji Kokusho Japan
7 Corresponding Member A. Boominathan India
8 Corresponding Member S.K. Prasad India
9 Nominated Member Duhee Park South Korea
10 Nominated Member Francesco Silvestri Italy
11 Nominated Member Jin Man Kim South Korea
12 Corresponding Member Dong-Soo Kim South Korea
13 Corresponding Member Jonathan Knappett United Kingdom
14 Corresponding Member Barnali Ghosh United Kingdom
15 Nominated Member Ioannis Anastasopoulos United Kingdom
16 Nominated Member Stavroula Kontoe United Kingdom
17 Nominated Member ARNALDO MARIO BARCHIESI Argentina
18 Nominated Member Professor Michael Pender New Zealand
19 Nominated Member Dr Misko Cubrinovski New Zealand
20 Corresponding Member Ayfer Erken Turkey
21 Nominated Member George Athanasopoulos Greece
22 Corresponding Member Nikolaos Klimis Greece
23 Nominated Member George Bouckovalas Greece
24 Nominated Member Deepankar Choudhury India
25 Nominated Member A. Murali Krishna India
26 Nominated Member Sebastiano Foti Italy
27 Nominated Member Carolina Sigarán-Loría Netherlands
28 Nominated Member Nihal Vitharana Australia
29 Corresponding Member Motoki Kazama Japan
30 Nominated Member Juan Manuel Mayoral Villa Mexico
31 Nominated Member Diego Alberto Cordero Carballo Costa Rica
32 Nominated Member Eleni Stathopoulou Netherlands
33 Corresponding Member Mehdi Bahrekazemi Sweden
34 Nominated Member Ramón Verdugo Chile
35 Corresponding Member Heon-Joon PARK South Korea
36 Corresponding Member Ernesto Cascone Italy
37 Corresponding Member Susumu Iai Japan
38 Corresponding Member Katerina Ziotopoulou United States
39 Nominated Member Jonathan Bray United States
40 Nominated Member Ellen Rathje United States
41 Corresponding Member Ahmed Elgamal United States
42 Corresponding Member Steven Kramer United States
43 Corresponding Member Russell Green United States
44 Corresponding Member Brady Cox United States
45 Corresponding Member Kenneth Stokoe United States
46 Corresponding Member Ricardo Dobry United States
47 Corresponding Member Claudio di Prisco Italy
48 Nominated Member Jian-Min Zhang China
49 Nominated Member Gang Wang Hong Kong
50 Nominated Member Jun Yang Hong Kong
51 Corresponding Member Fahd CUIRA France
52 Nominated Member Paulo Coelho Portugal
53 Corresponding Member Rui Carrilho Gomes Portugal
54 Nominated Member António Araújo Correia Portugal
55 Nominated Member Christos Vrettos Germany
56 Nominated Member José Luis de Justo Spain
57 Nominated Member Cheng-Hsing Chen Chinese Taipei
58 Nominated Member Siau Chen Chian Singapore
59 Corresponding Member Takashi Kiyota Japan
60 Nominated Member Lanmin Wang China
61 Nominated Member Mitsu Okamura Japan
62 Nominated Member Ryosuke Uzuoka Japan
63 Corresponding Member Salah Sadek Lebanon
64 Corresponding Member Muhsin Rahhal Lebanon
65 Corresponding Member Susumu Yasuda Japan
66 Corresponding Member Ikuo Towhata Japan
67 Corresponding Member Kenji Ishihara Japan
68 Nominated Member Zbigniew Bednarczyk Poland
69 Nominated Member Waldemar Świdziński Poland
70 Nominated Member Jorgen Johansson Norway
71 Nominated Member Dharma Wijewickreme Canada
72 Nominated Member Atilla Ansal Turkey
73 Nominated Member Kemal Onder Cetin Turkey
74 Nominated Member Jean-François SEMBLAT France
75 Nominated Member Masyhur Irsyam Indonesia
76 Corresponding Member Murat Monkul Turkey
77 Corresponding Member Pelin Ozener Turkey
78 Corresponding Member Deniz Ulgen Turkey
79 Nominated Member Finn Liam Canada
80 Nominated Member Valérie Whenham Belgium
81 Nominated Member Nicolas Lambert Belgium
82 Nominated Member Amir Kaynia Norway
83 Nominated Member Farzin Shahrokhi Norway
84 Nominated Member A.M. UZDIN A.M. Russia
85 Corresponding Member Stephane BRULE France
86 Nominated Member Alain PECKER France
87 Nominated Member Carl Wesäll Sweden
88 Nominated Member Jan Laue Sweden
89 Nominated Member Seyed Mohsen Haeri Iran
90 Corresponding Member Mehmet Baris Can Ulker Turkey

PBD-III Vancouver 2017

The 3rd International Conference on Performance-based Design in Earthquake Geotechnical Engineering (PBD-III) will be held in Vancouver, BC, Canada, from July 16-19, 2017. Details of the technical and social programs are available at:  E

Read More

Host Member Society: USA

Short name: Earthquake (TC203)

GeoWorld GroupEarthquake Geotechnical Engineering and Associated Problems (TC203)

Contact Technical Committee : Earthquake Geotechnical Engineering and Associated Problems