TC102 In-Situ Testing

Ground Property Characterization from In-Situ Tests

Host Member Society: United States

Short name: In-Situ Testing (TC102)

Website: TC102 - In-situ testing

Recent CPT'22 Conference in Bologna, Italy on June 8-10, 2022

Upcoming 7th international conference on Site Characterization (ISC-7): Barcelona, Spain in June 2024

ISC'5 2016 Proceedings are now available online for free!

ISSMGE is pleased to announce that all papers published in the 5th International Conference on Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterisation (ISC'5) that was held in Queensland, Australia in 2016 are now available through the ISSMGE online library.

Read More

To promote the utilization and improve the interpretation of in-situ testimg methods:

The use of in-situ tests for subsurface characterization continues to grow in both research and industry. New devices as well as variants of existing devices continue to be developed, as do improved methods for correction, manipulation, interpretation, and property estimation of generated data. Areas where rapid growth is occuring includes visualation of data sets and the use of machine learning for data analysis and property estimation. The critical role in-situ tests have in geotechnical engineering practice has been particularly evident recently in the areas of tailings impoundments and offshore foundations and pipelines, and further highlighted through penertration testing on Mars. Ongoing committee activities, including specialty conferences such as the ISC and CPT conference series continue to promote the development and use of in-situ tests.  

Interactive communication between TC102 members:

Committee activities are oriented to facilitate communications, connections, and collaborations between individual practicioners and resarchers as well as at higher organizational levels, including national and regional groups and associations. The committee website is maintained as a resource for individuals to identify experts in the field. Committee meetings, in-person and online, are used to continue to commicate and update members on ongoing and upcoming activities. Repreentation by committee members to their national and regional societies are used to leverage and support synergistic activities. Strong participation in the ISCMGE conference every four years, as well as supporting organization of the In situ Site Characterization conference series and the Cone Penetration Conference series, both typically held every 4 years represent broader efforts to engage and assemble the international community of industry and research experts. The committee also provides a supporting role to other synergistic activities when apporpriate. 

To host and endorse international conferences, symposiums and other events:

The committee has a long-standing tradition and committement to being heavily engaged in the ICSMGE conference every four years, often serving to organize several technical sessions. In addition, the committee is the primary supporter of the In situ Site Characterization conference series and the Cone Penetration Conference series, both typically held every 4 years represent broader efforts to engage and assemble the international community of industry and research experts. The committee also provides strong support for other specialty conferences, such as for the pressuremeter and flat dilatometer, as well as for national and regional conference activities. The committee also selects and facilitates the James K. Mitchell honorary lecture, with the lecture given every 2-4 years at either the ICSMGE conference or one of the themed ISC or CPT conferences. 


Diffusion of Ground Characterization importance for Geotechnical Engineering:

The products of activities supported by the committee, including conference proceedings as well as additonal keynote lectures and online webinar material, continue to effective disseminate the contributions and importance of the in-situ site characteization field. There are additional opportunities to more directly communicate its importance to the broader society, and the committee is interested to hearing ideas that committee members and others may have.  

# Type Full Name Country
1 Chair Jason DeJong United States
2 Secretary Paola Monaco Italy
3 Nominated by TC Chair Joek Peuchen Netherlands
4 Nominated by TC Chair Serge Varaksin France
5 Nominated by TC Chair Richard Kelly Australia
6 Nominated Member Mayu Tincopa Peru
7 Nominated Member Chih-ping Lin Chinese Taipei
8 Nominated Member Yu Wang Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
9 Corresponding Member Adrian McCallum Australia
10 Nominated Member Sara Amoroso Italy
11 Corresponding Member Guido Gottardi Italy
12 Nominated Member Laurin Hauser Austria
13 Nominated Member Simon Oberhollenzer Austria
14 Nominated Member Gunnar Nilsson Sweden
15 Corresponding Member Paolo Simonini Italy
16 Corresponding Member Giorgio Pezzetti Italy
17 Nominated Member Laura Tonni Italy
18 Nominated Member james sharp Canada
19 Nominated Member Luisa Dhimitri Albania
20 Corresponding Member Hermann Peiffer Belgium
21 Nominated Member Taeseo Ku Singapore
22 Nominated Member Choong-Ki Chung South Korea
23 Nominated Member JONG-SUB LEE South Korea
24 Nominated Member Koen Haelterman Belgium
25 Corresponding Member Wouter Vervaele Belgium
26 Nominated Member Isabel Lopes Portugal
27 Nominated Member Antonio Viana da Fonseca Portugal
28 Corresponding Member Carlos Rodrigues Portugal
29 Nominated Member Bahram Amini Iran
30 Nominated Member P. Anbazhagan India
31 Corresponding Member Sanjeev Kumar Garg India
32 Nominated Member Andrei Constantin Olteanu Romania
33 Nominated Member Jacques MONNET France
34 Corresponding Member Lou Areias Belgium
35 Corresponding Member Patrick Mengé Belgium
36 Nominated Member Xiaoqiang Gu China
37 Corresponding Member ZHONGKUN OUYANG China
38 Nominated Member Irene Rocchi Denmark
39 Corresponding Member Huayang Lei China
40 Nominated Member Tirawat Boonyatee Thailand
41 Nominated Member Susit Chaiprakaikeow Thailand
42 Nominated Member Peng Kelvin Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
43 Nominated Member Priscilla Paniagua Norway
44 Nominated Member An-Bin Huang Chinese Taipei
45 Nominated Member Tien Dung Nguyen Vietnam
46 Nominated Member Denis Kalumba South Africa
47 Nominated Member Gerhard Heymann South Africa
48 Corresponding Member ZHONGKUN OUYANG China
49 Nominated Member Arny Lengkeek Netherlands
50 Nominated Member Paulus P. Rahardjo Indonesia
51 Nominated Member Kaushik Bandyopadhyay India
52 Nominated Member Marcos Arroyo Spain
53 Nominated Member Guojun Cai China
54 Nominated Member Ángel Tijera Spain
55 Nominated Member VICTOR ALEJANDRO RINALDI Argentina
56 Nominated Member Emőke Imre Hungary
57 Nominated Member Barry Lehane Australia
58 Nominated Member Paul Mayne United States
59 Nominated Member Allan McConnell Australia
60 Nominated Member Daniel Rom United States
61 Nominated Member Heraldo Giacheti Brazil
62 Nominated Member Zbigniew Młynarek Poland
63 Corresponding Member Diego Marchetti Italy
64 Nominated Member Jędrzej Wierzbicki Poland
65 Nominated Member Philippe REIFFSTECK France
66 Nominated Member Yan P. Chandra Indonesia
67 Corresponding Member Jay Kumar Shukla India
68 Nominated Member Kristoffer Kåsin Norway
69 Nominated Member Hiroyuki Tanaka Japan
70 Nominated Member Mamoru Mimura Japan
71 Nominated Member Mike Long Ireland
72 Nominated Member John Powell United Kingdom
73 Nominated Member Darren Ward United Kingdom

Contact Technical Committee : Ground Property Characterization from In-Situ Tests

This message will be sent to TC102 In-Situ Testing officers