TC106 Unsaturated Soils

Unsaturated Soils

Disseminate knowledge and practice in the area of mechanics of unsaturated soils including as examples, expansive, collapsible, residual, arid, and compacted soils:

  • Organize specialty conferences, symposiums and workshops.
  • Encourage preparation of keynote lectures, state-of-the-art lectures including new technology, general reports for conferences organized by the International Society, regional conferences and conferences organized by Member societies.


To establish guidelines and technical recommendations in the field of unsaturated soils:

  • Promote benchmark exercises to establish the capabilities of current theoretical frameworks and prediction methodologies in unsaturated soil mechanics.
  • Promote the exchange of information about testing of unsaturated soils for geotechnical and geoenvironmental purposes.

Assist with technical programs of international and regional conferences organized by the ISSMGE:

  • Promote the presentation of findings of the TC in main sessions and discussion sessions.
  • Promote TC106-sponsored sessions on unsaturated soils at ISSMGE sponsored international and regional conferences on soil mechanics and geotechnical engineering, and to support special geotechnical and geoenvironmental conferences on unsaturated soils.

Interact with industry and overlapping organizations working in areas related to the TC's specialist area:

  • Cooperate actively with other technical committees whose field of activity involves important questions related to unsaturated soils: TC208 Slope Stability in Engineering Practice; TC210 Dams and Embankments and TC215 Environmental Geotechnics.

# Type Full Name Country
1 Chair David Toll United Kingdom
2 Vice Chair Bernardo Caicedo Colombia
3 Secretary Adrian Russell Australia
4 Nominated by TC Chair Pierre Delage France
5 Nominated by TC Chair Gerald Miller United States
6 Nominated Member Cristina Jommi Netherlands
7 Nominated Member Oscar Mooijman Netherlands
8 Corresponding Member Deneys Schreiner United Kingdom
9 Corresponding Member Chan-Young Yune South Korea
10 Nominated Member Alessio Ferrari Switzerland
11 Nominated Member Simon Wheeler United Kingdom
12 Nominated Member Akbar Javadi United Kingdom
13 Nominated Member ORÊNCIO VILAR Brazil
14 Nominated Member DIEGO GUILLERMO MANZANAL Argentina
15 Nominated Member LUCIANO OLDECOP Argentina
16 Nominated Member Emőke Imre Hungary
17 Nominated Member Fernando Marinho Brazil
18 Corresponding Member Ehsan Nikooee Netherlands
19 Nominated Member Viroon Kamchoom Thailand
20 Nominated Member EDUARDO ROJAS GONZALEZ Mexico
21 Corresponding Member Apiniti Jotisankasa Thailand
22 Corresponding Member Sandra Houston United States
23 Nominated Member Xiong Zhang United States
24 Nominated Member Zdzisław Skutnik Poland
25 Corresponding Member Francesca Casini Italy
26 Nominated Member Wojciech Slowski Finland
27 Nominated Member Farimah MASROURI France
28 Nominated Member Nasser Khalili Australia
29 Nominated Member Gabriela Brandusa Cazacu Romania
30 Nominated Member Harianto Rahardjo SEAGS
31 Nominated Member Gabriele Della Vecchia Italy
32 Nominated Member Claudio Mancuso Italy
33 Nominated Member S. Sreedeep India
34 Nominated Member Panagiotis Sitarenios Greece
35 Nominated Member Michael Bardanis Greece
36 Nominated Member Eduardo Alonso Spain
37 Nominated Member Kazimierz Garbulewski Poland
38 Nominated Member Antonio Gens Spain
39 Nominated Member Rafaela Cardoso Portugal
40 Nominated Member H.W. Sun Hong Kong
41 Corresponding Member Tomoyoshi NIshimura Japan
42 Corresponding Member Geoff Chao United States
43 Nominated Member Laureano Hoyos United States
44 Nominated Member Chia-Cheng Fan Chinese Taipei
45 Nominated Member Changfu Wei China
46 Nominated Member Hirofumi Toyota Japan
47 Nominated Member Atsushi Iizuka Japan
48 Nominated Member Anthony Leung Hong Kong
49 Nominated Member Yu-Jun CUI France
50 Nominated Member Behrouz Gatmiri Iran
51 Nominated Member David Masin Czech & Slovak Republics
52 Nominated Member Kartal Toker Turkey
53 Nominated Member Huriye Bilsel Turkey
54 Nominated Member Seyed Mohsen Haeri Iran
55 Nominated Member Seong-Wan Park South Korea
56 Nominated Member Indarto Indarto Indonesia
57 Nominated Member Daichao Sheng Australia
58 Nominated Member Sai Vanapalli Canada
59 Nominated Member Delwyn Fredlund Canada
60 Nominated Member S. Rajesh India
61 Nominated Member Peter Van Impe Belgium
62 Nominated Member Robert Charlier Belgium
63 Nominated Member Liangtong Zhan China

7th Asia-Pacific Conference on Unsaturated Soils

DATE: August 23~25, 2019
Host: The Japanese Geotechnical Society. Supported by: TC106 Unsaturated Soils of ISSMGE

Venue: Nagoya Congress

Read More

TC106 Discussion Sessions at ICSMGE, Seoul 2017

TC106 is organising 3 discussion sessions on Unsaturated Soils at the 19th International Conference on Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering at Seoul in September 2017.

TC106 Discussion Sessions

Thursday 21st September 2017, 09:00-15:00

Room 203A/B, COEX Conventio

Read More

Unsaturated Soils Workshop at ICSMGE, Seoul 2017

TC106 is organising a workshop on Unsaturated Soils at the 19th International Conference on Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering at Seoul in September 2017.

The State of Practice in Unsaturated Soil Mechanics

TC106 Workshop. Wednesday 20th September 2017, 09:00-10:3

Read More

Blight Lecture at ICSMGE, Seoul 2017

Blight Lecture

The 19th International Conference on Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering at Seoul, September 2017 will host the 2nd Blight Lecture. The Blight Lecture is the Honour Lecture for Unsaturated Soils, nominated by the TC106 committee.

Professor Delwyn Fredlund

The 2nd Blight Le

Read More

7th International Conference on Unsaturated Soils


On behalf of TC106 and Hong Kong Geotechnical Society, the HKUST is pleased to invite you to attend the 7th International Conference on Unsaturated Soils (UNSAT2018) in August 2018. This conference will provide an excellent opportunity for worldwide academics, engineers, scie

Read More

2nd PanAmerican Conference on Unsaturated Soils

On behalf of the Unsaturated Soils Technical Committee of the Geo-Institute (G-I) of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), and the TC 106 committee on Unsaturated Soils of the International Society of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE), you are cor

Read More

Unsaturated Soil Mechanics in Transportation Geotechnics

A session on Unsaturated Soils was organised by David Toll, Eduardo Alonso and Claudia Zapata at the 3rd International Conference on Transportation Geotechnics in Guimarães, Portugal in 2016. The papers are available on-line as Chapter 2: Unsaturated Soil Mechanics in Tran

Read More

3rd European Conference on Unsaturated Soils, Paris 2016

The Proceedings of the 3rd European Conference on Unsaturated Soils, Paris 2016 are available on-line at:

The happy delegates who attended the conference are shown below!

E-UNSAT 2016 Group Photo

Read More

Host Member Society: UK

Short name: Unsaturated Soils (TC106)

GeoWorld GroupUnsaturated Soils (TC106)

Contact Technical Committee : Unsaturated Soils