TC105 Geo-mechanics

Geo-Mechanics from Micro to Macro

To promote co-operation and exchange of information about the behaviour of soil grains and granular interactions, so as to clarify the fundamental micro-mechanisms of the behaviour of soils.

1.To promote improved Discrete Element Modelling (DEM) of soil aggregates, through simulations of laboratory tests, especially with regard to the observation of grain crushing and rearrangement.

2.To encourage a micro-structural understanding of significant macroscopic behaviours such as compressibility, anisotropy, yielding, creep, cyclic liquefaction, shear rupture and tensile fracture.

3.To open up a discussion on the use of micro-structural measurements to enhance soil characterisation procedures (grading, plasticity index, CPT / SPT etc) and to clarify the selection and use of continuum parameters in geotechnical engineering practice.

Encourage preparation of keynote lectures, state-of-the-art lectures including new technology, general reports for conferences organized by the International Society, regional conferences and conferences organized by Member societies.

Interact with industry and overlapping organizations working in areas related to the TC?s specialist area: - ASCE Granular Materials committee - ALERT (Europe) - GM3 (UK) - National research group - Korean Geotechnical Society - National research group - Chinese Geotechnical Society - National research group - Japanese Geotechnical Society

# Type Full Name Country
1 Chair Kenichi Soga United States
2 Vice Chair Mingjing Jiang China
3 Secretary Yukio Nakata Japan
4 Nominated by TC Chair Itai Einav Australia
5 Nominated by TC Chair Jidong Zhao Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
6 Nominated by TC Chair Gioacchino (Cino) Viggiani France
7 Nominated by TC Chair Catherine O'Sullivan United Kingdom
8 Nominated Member Hong Lam Dang Vietnam
9 Corresponding Member Matteo Ciantia United Kingdom
10 Corresponding Member Mark O'Neill United Kingdom
11 Corresponding Member Francesco Calvetti Italy
12 Nominated Member Muzamir Hasan Malaysia
13 Corresponding Member Rocco Lagioia Italy
14 Nominated Member David Frost United States
15 Nominated Member Giuseppe Mortara Italy
16 Nominated Member Alessandro Gajo Italy
17 Corresponding Member Matthew Richard Coop United Kingdom
18 Nominated Member Rolando Orense New Zealand
19 Nominated Member Zhongxuan Yang China
20 Nominated Member Anne-Catherine Dieudonne Netherlands
21 Nominated Member Panos Papanastasiou Cyprus
22 Corresponding Member Xiaohui Cheng China
23 Nominated Member Marius Milatz Germany
24 Corresponding Member Ning Guo China
25 Corresponding Member Helen Cheng United Kingdom
26 Corresponding Member Sadegh Nadimi United Kingdom
27 Corresponding Member Alejandro Martinez United States
28 Nominated Member Ilhan Chang Australia
29 Nominated Member Ignacio González Tejada Spain
30 Nominated Member João Manso Portugal
31 Nominated Member Hans Henning Stutz Denmark
32 Nominated Member Pulpong Pongvithayapanu Thailand
33 Nominated Member Nicolas Estrada Mejia Colombia
34 Corresponding Member TEJAS G. MURTHY India
35 Nominated Member INGRID TOMAC Croatia
36 Nominated Member Gye-Chun Cho South Korea
37 Corresponding Member Stefano Utili United Kingdom
38 Nominated Member Jelke Dijkstra Sweden
39 Corresponding Member Jinhyun Choo Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
40 Corresponding Member Gang Wang Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
41 Nominated Member Marek Lefik Poland
42 Nominated Member Dariusz Łyżba Poland
43 Nominated Member Antonio Gens Spain
44 Nominated Member G. Madhavi Latha India
45 Corresponding Member Arghya Das India
46 Nominated Member Mousumi Mukherjee India
47 Nominated Member Achim Hettler Germany
48 Nominated Member Y.H. Wang Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
49 Nominated Member Luis Vallejo United States
50 Nominated Member Ali Pak Iran
51 Nominated Member Robert Charlier Belgium
52 Nominated Member Jean-Claude Verbrugge Belgium
53 Nominated Member Daniel Barreto United Kingdom
54 Nominated Member David Muir Wood United Kingdom
55 Nominated Member J S Vinod Australia
56 Nominated Member Samir Maghous Brazil
57 Nominated Member Achilleas Papadimitriou Greece
58 Nominated Member Ivo Herle Czech & Slovak Republics
59 Corresponding Member Beatrice Baudet United Kingdom
60 Corresponding Member Sadik Oztoprak Turkey
61 Nominated Member Paulus P. Rahardjo Indonesia
62 Nominated Member Pierre Delage France
63 Nominated Member Mehmet Baris Can Ulker Turkey
64 Nominated Member Ozer Cinicioglu Turkey
65 Nominated Member Yukio Nakata Japan

TC105 DEM Round Robin Test

Dear ISSMGE members,

TC105 invites you to join the TC105 Round Robin exercise on DEM simulation.

The discrete element method (DEM) is a powerful tool for to develop fundamental understanding of the behavior of geomaterials at the scale of the individual particles.Altho

Read More

Micro‐Macro Mechanics of Granular Geo‐materials - China‐Europe Conference on Geotechnical Engineering (Aug 13‐16, 2018, Vienna, Austria)

China‐Europe Conference on Geotechnical Engineering (Aug 13‐16, 2018, Vienna, Austria)

Special Session organised under auspices of the Technical Committee of Geomechanics under the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, the Technical Committee of Geomechanic

Read More

Symposium "micro to MACRO mathematical modelling in soil mechanics

Dear All

An International Symposium "micro to MACRO mathematical modelling in soil mechanics"  will be held in Reggio Calabria on May 29 – June 1, 2018.


The deadline for the abstract submission is approaching and I hope that you and your cowor

Read More

Host Member Society: USA

Short name: Geo-mechanics (TC105)

GeoWorld GroupGeo-Mechanics from Micro to Macro (TC105)

Contact Technical Committee : Geo-Mechanics from Micro to Macro